WELCOME TO NEVADA COMMERCE TAX LETTER FAQ
Why did I receive the Welcome letter?
Welcome letters are sent to notify businesses about their commerce tax filing requirements. Even if your business does not make $4,000,000 or is exempt from NV business license fees, it is still required to file the Commerce Tax Return. Independent contractors receiving form 1099-Misc are considered to be businesses.
Exempt entity status was mentioned in the Welcome letter. Should I file the Exempt Status Entity form?
Please review our Filing Requirement FAQs before you submit the form. There is a very limited list of the entities and exempt reasons. The Exempt Status Entity forms submissions are reviewed by the Department. A form filed in error will be rejected. If you are unsure about your entity exempt status, ask here.
A pre-approved Nevada Tax Access Code in the Welcome letter, what is it for?
This code is to enroll in the Nevada Tax Center system to file the commerce tax return online. Filing the commerce tax online will save you time and cost of mailing the return.
I've never used the Nevada Tax Center before. How do I enroll?
Instructions for enrollment in the Nevada Tax Center can be found here.
An Additional Information form was enclosed to the Welcome letter. What is it for?
The form is used to verify information about your business the Department received from the Nevada Secretary of State. Complete the Commerce Tax Additional Information Form and send it back to the Department via mail.
Can I file the Commerce Tax Return before July 1, 2016?
Only if your business is closed before July 1, 2016 you may file an early return. If so, check the “final return” box. If your business is still active, your early return will be rejected.
I enrolled in Nevada Tax system and sent the Additional Information Form. What do I do next?
Log in to Nevada Tax Center system and file the commerce tax return. If the gross revenue of your business from engaging in business in Nevada is less than $4,000,000, the compliance is very simple:
- Select the taxable year
- Select NAICs code category from the drop down menu
- Check “under $4,000,000” box
- Check “under penalty of perjury” box
- And submit the return.
If the gross revenue of your business from engaging in business in Nevada is over $4,000,000, please review the Commerce Tax Return Instructions.
Still have questions?
Ask the Commerce Tax team here.