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The Department is launching a new method of sharing information and educating 
business owners about issues that may affect them. The 2013 Legislature enacted 
SB7 which authorizes the Department to publish technical bulletins setting forth 
information relating to taxes administered by the Department as well as certain 
written opinions received from the Attorney General. These bulletins may be 
information or guidance concerning specific issues or updates on a specific type of 
business. They will be written in simple nontechnical language and will contain easy 
to understand examples.  They will be published and revised as needed and will be 
posted on the Department website but will also be made available upon request. All 
technical bulletins must be reviewed and approved by the Nevada Tax Commission. 
The first of these bulletins on Estate Sales will be brought before the Nevada Tax 
Commission on October 7, 2013.  

 

 

Visit the Department 
Website at 

http://tax.state.nv.us 

TAXABILITY OF MULTIPLE ITEMS SOLD FOR 
ONE PRICE (BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS) 
 If a sale of tangible personal property 
includes taxable items and non-taxable 
items or a non-taxable service, the 
entire amount of the sales price is 
taxable if the items are not separately 
stated to the customer. This is called a 
bundled transaction pursuant to NAC 
372.045. Businesses that typically 
make sales that qualify as bundled 
transactions include wedding chapels, 
caterers, event planners, and 
repairmen. There are some exceptions 
to this rule:  
 

If the true object of the transaction is 
really a service or the value of the 
taxable items is less than 10% of the 
entire transaction, then the retailer does 
not tax the entire transaction but pays 
sales tax or use tax on the cost of the 
taxable item to them.  For example, a 
customer pays $200 dollars to get their 
wedding vows renewed at a wedding 
chapel and it includes flowers (value 
$15). The customer should not be 
charged sales tax on the $200, but tax 
is due from the wedding chapel on the 
$15 flowers.    
 

http://tax.state.nv.us/
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-372.html%23NAC372Sec045
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-372.html%23NAC372Sec045
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ATTENDING OR PROMOTING A ONE-TIME 
EVENT, TRADESHOW OR CONVENTION 

 

Veterinarian and 
Veterinary 
Supplies 
 

Veterinarians are the 
retailers of the tangible 
personal property they use 
in the treatment of animals 
and as such are required to 
collect and report the sales 
tax.  When treating the 
animals, the price of the 
tangible personal property 
used during the 
performance of the service is 
typically marked up and the 
sales tax must be collected 
on the retail price which is 
itemized on the invoice.  In 
addition all items such as 
dog foods, injections (drugs) 
vitamins and other pet 
supplies sold by a 
veterinarian are taxable at 
retail.  It should be noted 
that if a veterinarian’s bill is 
not itemized it will be 
considered a bundled 
transaction and the entire 
transaction is subject to the 
tax (NAC 372.045).  
Veterinarians should give a 
resale certificate to their 
vendor(s) to allow for the 
proper collection of the sales 
tax  however, if sales tax is 
paid at the time of purchase 
the cost can be subtracted 
pursuant to NAC 372.780. 
 

PROMOTERS/ORGANIZERS of 
one-time events, tradeshows and 
conventions should contact the 
appropriate Department of Taxation 
office at least two weeks prior to the 
scheduled event to obtain promoter 
instructions, related tax statutes, and 
the necessary number of “One-Time 
Permits” NAC 372.180. Please note 
that liquor, cigarettes and other 
tobacco products are subject to 
special laws and regulations in 
addition to sales and use tax. If there 
will be liquor, cigarettes or other 
tobacco products sold or given away 
at the tradeshow or convention, 
please contact the Carson City 
Taxation office at 775-684-2029.   

  Items of tangible personal property 
are sometimes given away at one-time 
events, tradeshows, and conventions. 
Most attendees know that sales tax is 
due on the sale of tangible personal 
property. However, some vendors 
may not be aware that use tax may be 
due on tangible personal property that 
is given without charge unless the 
item given away does not have a 
significant value such as pens, note 
pads, or mouse pads. (NRS 372.7275). 
Tangible personal property, as defined 
in statute by NRS 372.085, means 
personal property which may be seen, 
weighed, measured, felt or touched, or 
which is in any other manner 
perceptible to the senses. 

 
 
 
 
 

TAXABILITY OF MULTIPLE ITEMS SOLD FOR 
ONE PRICE (BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS) con’t 
 

If a non-itemized invoice is given on 
a transaction that includes food, 
drugs, or medical equipment and the 
value of the taxable items is less than 
50%, then the transaction is also not 
considered a bundled transaction and 
the retailer does not charge sales tax 
to the buyer but pays sales tax or use 
tax on the cost of the taxable items to 
him. 
 

 

If you have questions as to whether 
the products you are selling meet the 
definition of a bundled transaction 
contact the Department of Taxation by 
writing to the Department at any of 
the office addresses. 
 

 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-372.html%23NAC372Sec045
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-372.html%23NAC372Sec780
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-372.html%23NAC372Sec180
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-372.html%23NRS372Sec7275
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-372.html%23NRS372Sec085


  
Red Dyed 

Diesel Fuel 
 
Red-dyed diesel fuel refers to 
diesel fuel which has been infused 
with red dye.  When the fuel is 
burned, the dye produces a red 
tinted exhaust.    Red-dyed diesel 
fuel may not be used in vehicles 
driven on the highway or other 
public roads.    Red-dyed diesel 
fuel is exempt from sales and use 
tax if it is used in an internal 
combustion or diesel engine off the 
highway.  An example of an 
internal combustion or diesel 
engine would be a diesel-powered 
generator used to produce 
electricity or a diesel tractor used 
for agricultural purposes.  Mining 
companies may use diesel-
powered vehicles that are driven 
only on the mine site.   Red-dyed 
diesel fuel used in an open burner 
to heat a kiln, for example, is not 
used in an internal-combustion or 
diesel engine and is subject to 
sales and use tax. The Nevada 
Department of Motor Vehicles 
requires purchasers of the dyed 
fuel to complete a written 
statement of acknowledgement and 
intended use.    In order to 
purchase the red-dyed diesel fuel 
without paying the sales tax, 
purchasers must supply the written 
statement to the retailer describing 
its intended use .  A retailer who 
sells red-dyed diesel fuel and 
doesn’t charge sales tax has the 
burden to prove that the fuel was 
sold for use in an internal 
combustion or diesel engine.  The 
retailer is required to keep a 
written statement completed by the 
purchaser, on a form provided by 
the Department of Motor Vehicles 
or some other form of 
documentation, proving that the 
dyed diesel fuel sold was intended 
for use in an internal-combustion 
or diesel engine.   

 October 2013 ◊ Page 3 

NEWSPAPERS, MAGAZINES AND OTHER 
PERIODICALS 

 In order for newspapers or other periodicals to claim an exemption from sales tax, 
provided in NRS 372.315, it must pass a two part test.  First, the publication must 
be classified as a newspaper.  Secondly, it must be issued at regular intervals not 
exceeding one week.  The term “issued” refers to when the newspaper is published, 
not when or how often it is distributed.  Newspapers which are published at 
intervals exceeding one week, magazines, magazine subscriptions, other 
periodicals and other periodical subscriptions are subject to sales tax or use tax.  
Taxpayers who purchase these items must either pay sales tax at the time of 
purchase to a registered Nevada vendor, or pay use tax when purchased from an 
out of state unregistered vendor. 

 

 

SUCCESSOR’S LIABILITY 

Taxpayers purchasing existing businesses are reminded of Successor’s Liability 
(NRS 360.525). When a person buys a business they may be liable for any tax or 
fees the business owes the Department. For this reason it is very important that 
the buyer of the business request a “Certificate of Amount due” from the 
Department of Taxation before the proceeds of the sale are released.  A buyer is 
required to withhold a sufficient portion of the purchase price to cover the seller’s 
liability of any tax or fee owed. If the buyer does not withhold any tax liability, 
the buyer will become liable for the payment of these taxes up to the extent of the 
consideration paid for the business or any stock of goods. If the buyer acquires the 
business through a business escrow service, the escrow officer will either obtain 
the necessary releases from the taxing authorities prior to closing escrow or 
withhold enough of the purchase price from the seller to pay any taxes that are 
due. Another option is to have the seller’s signature notarized on the form “ADM-
01.17 Successors Liability – Release of information” issued by the Department. 
The form can be found on the website under the “Common Forms” tab.  A 
contract entered into where the buyer agrees to pay the tax liability due does not 
absolve the seller from the tax liabilities as the Department is not a party to the 
contract. 

 

CHLORINE AND CHEMICALS 
 
The sale of chlorine and other chemical agents used to purify water is subject to 
Sales and/or Use Tax, unless the purchaser is in the business of re-selling the 
chlorine/other chemical agents and gives the seller a valid “Resale Certificate”. 
Chlorine and all chemicals used as purification agents for swimming pools are 
subject to Sales and/or Use Tax. 
 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-372.html%23NRS372Sec315
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-360.html%23NRS360Sec525


 

 

PURCHASES FROM OUT OF STATE PLANT NURSERIES 

 Many plant nurseries are located out of state and offer a wide variety of plants, trees and landscaping materials, 
including rocks, boulders, pond supplies and statuary.  Nurseries that have sales representatives enter Nevada to 
conduct business, or use their own trucks to deliver plants and landscaping materials, more than two times in a twelve-
month period, are required to be registered with the Department of Taxation to collect sales tax.  See NRS 372.055(C) 

Nurseries that do not enter Nevada to conduct business and use a third party or common carrier to deliver plants and 
landscaping materials, are not required to collect sales tax.  In such instances, the Nevada customer must report and 
pay the use tax, based on the purchase price of the plants, trees and materials.   

Annual plants or seeds that produce fruit or vegetables for human consumption are specifically exempted from tax, 
however, non-annual plants such as fruit trees and berry vines are not exempt and are taxable, NAC 372.540.     

 

The Department will be presenting Basic Tax Training and Industry-Specific Training throughout the year. These free 
workshops include training on Sales and Use Tax, Modified Business Tax, Live Entertainment Tax, collection of taxes, 
resale certificates, exemptions, how to prepare amended tax returns, how to prepare for an audit, your petition rights, etc.  

SOUTHERN REGION – The following workshops will be held in the Henderson Department of Taxation Office located at 
2550 Paseo Verde Parkway, Suite 180, and will begin at 9:00 a.m. and conclude at 12:00 p.m.:  

Basic Tax Training: 
October 15, 2013 March 18, 2014  
January 21, 2014 April 15, 2014  
February 18, 2014   
   
 
The Henderson Office will include additional presentations by the Internal Revenue Service (forms and filing 
requirements), and SCORE (resources available for businesses to guide them to success). SCORE is a non-profit 
organization sponsored by the Small Business Administration.  

NORTHERN REGION – The following workshop will be held in the Reno Department of Taxation Office located at  4600 
Kietzke Lane, Bldg. B, Suite 111, and will begin at 9:00 a.m. and conclude at 12:00 p.m.:  

Basic Tax Training: 
October 16, 2013 

The Reno Office will include presentations by the Internal Revenue Service.  

Reservations are required as classes fill up quickly. Please call (702) 486-2354 for Henderson classes and (775) 687-
9999 for Reno classes to reserve seating. For those not able to attend “Ask the Advisors” training, you may access the 
Workshop Power Point presentations on our website by clicking on “Ask the Advisors.”   
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http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-372.html%23NRS372Sec055
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-372.html%23NAC372Sec540
http://www.scorelv.org/
http://www.tax.state.nv.us/meetings.htm%23advisors

