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Elko County Tax Rate Increase

Effective July 1, 2016, the Sales and Use Tax rate for Elko County will increase
from 6.85% to 7.10%. Those who collect and remit Sales and Use Tax will
need to make changes to business processes as necessary in order to collect
tax at the new rate.

Businesses should be sure to file using the Elko County has a new
most recently updated tax return forms. To Sales & Use Tax rate of
take advantage of the most up to date tax 7.10% as of July 1, 2016.
rates and forms, sign up to file online using
the Nevada Tax Center. Tax returns can be also be found on our website at
http://tax.nv.gov. If you have questions or require further information, please
contact our Call Center at 866-962-3707.

Department Launches Updated
Nevada Tax Center

The Nevada Department of Taxation is proud to announce the release of the
new and improved online Nevada Tax Center. The new site became
available as of Monday, April 18th, and almost immediately showed an
increased number of users.

The Nevada Tax Center is a secure, online tool for taxpayers to more
efficiently view and file tax payments, including retrieving information on
past filings. Users can also update their mailing address, register for EFT
payments, view important tax-related messages, and more.

The site uses the latest in technology to offer a more responsive site with
improved speed and functionality. With a completely new design, the
updated system offers an enhanced user experience featuring quick access
to Nevada Tax's most commonly used features.

For more information or to register to use Nevada Tax, simply visit
www.nevadatax.nv.gov.

") NEVADA TAX CENTER

If you received a Commerce Tax Welcome Letter, Click Here

Welcome to the New
Nevada Tax Center

The easiest way to manage your business tax filings with the Nevada Department of Taxation.
Log In or Sign Up to get started with managing your business and filings online.

Or Sign Up Today!



https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/
https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/
http://tax.nv.gov
www.nevadatax.nv.gov

Public Meeting Reminder

Don't forget—all Public Meetings are posted to
the Department of Taxation’'s website and can
be found on the Public Meeting Calendar!

Nevada New Markets
Tax Credit Program

Nevada businesses seeking loans may now qualify
for a new opportunity! In 2013, the Nevada
Legislature created the Nevada New Markets Tax
Credit program to help businesses located in low-
income areas get access to below market loans.
Seven federally certified community development
entities (CDE's) were awarded tax credits through a
competitive process, which they in turn sold to
raise investment capital to lend through the
program. CDEs work with banks to provide below
market loan packages to qualified businesses.

The CDEs are required to
invest most of the program's
$200 million raised by the
end of the year, so they are
actively seeking qualified
business investment
opportunities of $3 million to $5 million in federally
defined low-income areas throughout Nevada. The
Nevada Department of Business
& Industry has the responsibility
of facilitating the match up of
potential projects to the CDEs.

New tax credit
program aims to
help businesses in

low-income areas.

For more information, including

eligibility  criteria,  program
benefits, and qualified
locations, please visit the
Department of Business &

Industry’s Website or call them
at (775) 684-2998.

Vehicle, Watercraft and
Aircraft Tax Evasion Program

Tax evasion occurs if the Department determines
that a Nevada resident intended to evade Sales &
Use Tax on the purchase of a motor vehicle,
watercraft and/or aircraft, by registering the
property in a State or jurisdiction which does not
levy a Sales & Use Tax or levies tax at a lower tax
rate. The resident shall be assessed the applicable
Nevada tax, plus a 10% penalty, plus .75% interest
per month, and may also be assessed an additional
300% evasion penalty. The Department works and
receives information from Ilaw enforcement
officials, the Department of Motor Vehicles, and
Nevada taxpayers to maintain an ongoing program
of tax evasion discovery.

The Department also receives buyer information
from surrounding States on sales of off-road
vehicles, watercraft, aircraft, motor homes, and
other vehicles purchased in their State with the
intention of bringing the vehicle/craft to Nevada for
storage, use, or other consumption. These vehicles/
crafts are taxable in Nevada and the Department
will pursue the buyer for tax, penalty, and interest
on such transactions. Additionally, the Department
works closely with the State of California to share
affidavit/tax information. Holding the vehicle/craft
in Nevada for 90 days to avoid California Sales &
Use Tax will make it taxable in Nevada. (NRS
360.340, 2)

If you mail your returns & payments to the Department,
please be aware the addresses have changed.
Click here for more information!

IMPORTANT:
ADDRESS CHANGES

WHAT ARE YOU
MAILING?

Commerce Tax

Standard Returns | | Other documents

1550 E. College Parkway

Main Office Las Vegas District Office
Grant Sawyer Office Building
555 E. Washington Ave. Ste. 1300
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone: (702) 486-2300

Fax: (702) 486-2373

Ste. 115

Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-2000
Fax: (775) 684-2020
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Reno District Office
4600 Kietzke Plaza
Building L, Ste. 235

Reno, NV 89502
Phone: (775) 687-9999
Fax: (775) 688-1303

Henderson Field Office
2550 Paseo Verde Parkway
Ste. 180
Henderson, NV 89074
Phone: (702) 486-2300
Fax: (702) 486- 3377


http://business.nv.gov/Resource_Center/Access_to_Capital/NMTC/Nevada_New_Markets_Tax_Credit_Program/
http://business.nv.gov/Resource_Center/Access_to_Capital/NMTC/Nevada_New_Markets_Tax_Credit_Program/
http://tax.nv.gov/Boards/Public_Meetings/
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/Home/Features/Address_Chart.pdf

Technical Bulletins

Technical Bulletin  TOB 16-0001 provides
reporting requirements for cigarette wholesalers
and retailers. The bulletin also provides clarity on
how to apply for a wholesale or retail license for
cigarette sales and specifies that the license is
location specific and not transferrable. Licenses
are valid for one year only and have to be renewed
annually. The bulletin discusses the requirements
for both wholesalers and retailers regarding their
cigarette inventory, including what amount they
are required to maintain, how stock for in state
and out of state distribution should be stored, and
who they can sell to or purchase from. Finally, the
bulletin contains information on when reports are
due to the Department and what penalties can
result if the wholesalers or retailers fail to follow
any laws related to tobacco enforcement.

Technical Bulletin SUT 16-0002 provides an
overview of Assembly Bill 332 (2015), discusses the
sales tax exemption for specialized components
in public works projects, and what is required for
the Department to make a determination if a
material qualifies as a specialized component.

Technical Bulletin  SUT 16-0003 provides
information regarding the application of use tax
on property purchased outside Nevada for use in

You| ®
¢

Follow us to stay up-to-date, be notified of public
meetings, view reports, watch training videos and more!
Click the links above to subscribe!
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Updates on Regulations

LCB file number R0O68-15 which is a regulation
related to the excise tax imposed on the
connection of a passenger with a carrier such as a
transportation network company, common motor
carrier, or taxicab. The regulation establishes
requirements for the filing of returns and the
payment of tax, specifically, when the tax is due
and payable to the Department on a monthly
basis. It also provides that when computing the
amount of tax due the taxpayer must multiply the
tax rate by the entire amount charged to the
passenger for transportation services.

LCB file number R 123-15 establishes provisions for
the administration, calculation and payment of
the commerce tax imposed on the Nevada gross
revenue of certain entities engaged in business in
this State. The regulation also adopts provisions
for the administration and calculation of the
credit against the payroll tax imposed on certain

Nevada. businesses for the payment of the commerce tax

by a business.
“Ask the Advisors” Training

The Department presents Basic Tax Training and industry-specific training throughout the year. Topics
for the free training workshops include: Sales and Use Tax; Modified Business Tax; Live Entertainment
Tax; collection of taxes; resale certificates; exemptions; how to prepare amended tax returns; how to
prepare for an audit; your petition rights, and more.

SOUTHERN REGION - The following workshops will be held in the Henderson Department of Taxation
Office located at 2550 Paseo Verde Parkway, Suite 180, from 9:00 AM-12:00 PM on the following dates:

August 16, 2016 September 20, 2016 October 18, 2016.

The Henderson Office will include additional presentations by the Internal Revenue Service (forms and
filing requirements), and SCORE (resources available for businesses to guide them to success). SCORE is
a non-profit organization sponsored by the Small Business Administration.

NORTHERN REGION - The Reno Office will include presentations by the Internal Revenue Service. The
following workshop will be held in the Reno Department of Taxation Office located at 4600 Kietzke
Lane, Bldg. B, Suite 111, from 9:00 AM-12:00 PM on the following dates:

August 17, 2016 October 19, 2016.

Reservations are required as classes fill up quickly. To reserve seating, please call (702) 486-2354 for
Henderson classes and (775) 687-9999 for Reno classes.
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http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/TaxLibrary/TO_%2016-0001_Cigarette_Reporting_Requirements_Technical_Bulletin(1).pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/TaxLibrary/Technical_Bulletin_SUT_16-0002_Final.pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/TaxLibrary/Technical_Bulletin_SUT_16-0003_Final.pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/FAQs/R068-15_Transportation_Connection_Tax_Regulation.pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/Commerce/Adopted%20Regulation%20R123-15.pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/Home/Features/Social_Media/

Nevada Commerce Tax Welcome Letter FAQ's

As part of introducing the Commerce Tax to over 300,000 Nevada businesses, a Welcome Letter will be
mailed to all those who are registered with the Nevada Secretary of State’'s Office. Here are some of the
most common questions taxpayers ask after receiving the letter.

Why did | receive the Welcome letter?

Welcome letters are sent to notify businesses about their Commerce Tax filing requirements. Even if
your business does not make $4,000,000 or is exempt from NV business license fees, it is still
required to file the Commerce Tax Return. Independent contractors receiving form 1099-Misc are
considered to be businesses.

Exempt entity status was mentioned in the Welcome letter. Should | file the Exempt Status
Entity form?

Please review our Filing Requirement FAQs before you submit the form. There is a very limited list of
the entities and exempt reasons. The Exempt Status Entity forms submissions are reviewed by the
Department. A form filed in error will be rejected. If you are unsure about your entity exempt status,
ask here.

A pre-approved Nevada Tax Access Code in the Welcome letter, what is it for?
This code is to enroll in the Nevada Tax Center system to file the commerce tax return online. Filing
the commerce tax online will save you time and cost of mailing the return.

I've never used the Nevada Tax Center before. How do | enroll?
Instructions for enrollment in the Nevada Tax Center can be found here.

An Additional Information form was enclosed with the Welcome letter. What is it for?

The form is used to verify information about your business the Department received from the Nevada
Secretary of State. Complete the Commerce Tax Additional Information Form and send it back to the
Department via mail or e-mail.

I enrolled in Nevada Tax Center and sent the Additional Information Form. What do | do next?
Between July 1, 2016 and August 15, 2016 log in into Nevada Tax Center system and file the commerce
tax return. If the gross revenue of your business from engaging in business in Nevada is less than
$4,000,000, the compliance is very simple:

*  Select the taxable year - July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016

Select NAICs code category from the drop down menu

Check “under $4,000,000" box

Check “under penalty of perjury” box

And submit the return.

If the gross revenue of your business from engaging in business in Nevada is over $4,000,000,
please review the Commerce Tax Return Instructions.

* ¥ ¥ ¥ *

Still have questions?
Ask the Commerce Tax team here.

= YuD Search Q o+ Brand new training videos on

Wl 13860views B Video Manager the Commerce Tax are now
' available on our YouTube
Channel! Topics include filing
requirements, gross revenue
situs, NACIS code & tax rates,
and more!

Nevada Dept. of Taxation o

Click here to view.


http://tax.nv.gov/Commerce/FilingRequirementFAQs/
http://tax.nv.gov/FAQs/Commerce_Contact/
https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/
http://tax.nv.gov/Commerce/NVTaxRegister/
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/Commerce_Tax_Additional_Information.pdf
https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/FAQs/COM_Return_Instructions_Final_Draft.pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/FAQs/Commerce_Contact/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwZMw0CLJAjXH1XFjYde18Q
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwZMw0CLJAjXH1XFjYde18Q

