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Whether it's an unexpected tax answer, audit billing, a deficiency or other notice, we will make every effort to 
clarify our position on the issue (NRS 360.291). 
 
The Department's appeal process starts informally and becomes more formal as the issue is raised to a 
higher authority.  
 
1)   First, contact should be a telephone call to the auditor or revenue officer who is handling the case and ask 
them to explain the assessment and the relevant legal authority.  
 
2)   If further questions remain or if further clarification is necessary, ask to speak with the employee's team 
leader or supervisor. 
 
3)   If you are questioning an audit assessment or deficiency determination, complete the Petition for Re-
determination form and return it in the envelope provided. This form must be returned to the Department 
within 45 days from the date of the Deficiency Determination or Notice of Credit. This 45 day due date is 
clearly stated on all notices. Failure to file the Petition for Re-determination timely may result in the 
determination becoming final and you will be considered to have waived your appeal rights. The Petition for 
Re-determination sets forth the amount of the determination being contested and the grounds for seeking it 
(NRS 360.365, NRS 360.360). 
 
4)   The Petition Supervisor will review the Petition for Re-determination and the facts surrounding the case. If 
there is additional documentation not previously presented to the auditor or revenue officer, the matter will be 
referred back to the original employee for consideration.  
 
5)   If there is still a disagreement with the assessment and there is no additional information to present, the 
matter will be forwarded for an evidentiary hearing, known as an Oral or Administrative Hearing, before an 
Administrative Law Judge (NRS 360.370).  Hearings are scheduled in Las Vegas, Carson City, Reno or Elko; 
whichever is appropriate. Go to our website at http://tax.state.nv.us/Hearings.htm for more information 
concerning Administrative Hearings. 
  
6)   If you disagree with the decision of the Administrative Law Judge, you may appeal the decision to the 
Nevada Tax Commission (NRS 360.390).  The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days of the issuance 
of the Hearing Decision. The hearing before the Tax Commission will take place in Reno, Carson City or Las 
Vegas. Department policy requires that a representative from the Attorney General's Office represent the 
Department. You may represent yourself or seek outside assistance. For more information about hearings 
before the Nevada Tax Commission go to our website at http://tax.state.nv.us/Hearings.htm. 
 
7)   If you are not satisfied with the decision of the Nevada Tax Commission, you may appeal within 30 days 
to the appropriate District Court of the State of Nevada (NRS 360.395, NRS 360.390). 
 
Throughout the appeal process, the Department will strive to keep you informed of your rights and 
responsibilities; and  times, dates and locations of meetings and deadlines. Be advised that at each level of 
the appeal, there are mandated time limits for responses.  (NRS 360.360, NRS 360.390). 
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