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What do I need to do to determine my 
Commerce Tax liability.

1) Determine if you are a business entity subject to the 
Commerce Tax.

2) Determine your Nevada Gross Revenue (NGR).
3) Determine your NAICS code.  The NAICS code is 

necessary to determine the tax rate. 
4) Subtract $4,000,000 from your NGR to determine your 

taxable revenue, then multiply that number by your tax 
rate.



Business Entity Subject To 
Commerce Tax:

Sec. 4 of SB 483

Each entity engaged in a business is subject to the 
tax, whether they are corporations including S 
corporations, partnerships, proprietorships, limited 
liability companies, business associations, joint stock 
companies, holding companies, and business trusts.

Engaged in business broadly defined (Sec. 6): 
• Commencing, conducting or continuing a business
• The exercise of corporate or franchise powers regarding a business
• Liquidation of business when entity was conducting the business



Business Not Subject To 
Commerce Tax:

Sec. 4(2) of SB 483

• Natural person unless it is required to file a 1040 form C, E or F
• Governmental entity
• 501(c) or Chapter 82 or 84 non profit
• Credit Union
• Certain non business trusts including REITs and REMICs as defined 

in IRS Code
• Passive entities
• Entities organized solely to manage intangible investments
• Entity participating in exhibition in Nevada that is not required to 

obtain a business license pursuant to NRS 360.780.



Commerce Tax - Who Must File

• All business entities subject to the Commerce Tax 
even if there is no tax liability 

• All corporations required to file an initial or annual list 
with the Secretary of State even if there is no tax 
liability



Commerce Tax – Filing Returns
 Annual filing Frequency:  Due date is 45th date after June 30, 

starting August 15, 2016 based on actual revenue for July 1-June 
30.  

 A business entity must use the same accounting method as it 
uses for federal income tax purposes.

 SB483 allows for a grace period until February 15, 2017 whereby 
no interest or penalty will be assessed for failure to comply with 
the Commerce Tax unless the failure was intentional or due to 
willful neglect.

 In subsequent years, a taxpayer may request an extension to file 
for up to 30 days.

• No penalty will be assessed if approved, but interest will 
accumulate.



Gross Revenue Defined
Section 8 or SB 483

The total amount realized by a business entity 

from engaging in a business in this State without 

deduction for:

• cost of goods sold

• other expenses incurred in operating the 

business



Gross Revenue Does Not Include
Section 8(3) of SB 483

 Intellectual property revenue from the sale or exchange of the right to use 
trademarks, trade names, patents, copyrights, or other similar property.

 Value of Cash discounts

 Value of goods and services to a customer on a complimentary basis

 Amounts realized from certain tax free transactions under IRC §118, 331, 
332, 336, 337, 338, 351, 355, 368,721, 731, 1031 and 1033 

 Amounts indirectly realized from a reduction of an expense

 The value of property or service donated to an organization under IRC §
501(c)(3)

 Amounts not considered revenue under GAAP



Deductions from Gross Revenue
Section 21 of SB 483

 Dividends and distributions
 Industry Specific Deductions

 Gaming, Mining, Liquor Suppliers, Insurance Companies, Health 
Care, Employee Leasing Companies, Entity that manages or 
operates a property owned or leased by Federal Government or that 
houses military personnel. 

 Receipts from a passive entity in which the business entity has an 
ownership interest

 Pass-through revenue (defined in Sec. 11 of SB 483)

 Dividends and interest from federal and state bonds or securities

 Bad debts, returns or refunds to customers, sale of accounts receivable 
if the underlying debts were included in revenue calculation



Deductions from Gross Revenue
Section 21 of SB 483

 Pass-through revenue (defined in Sec. 11 of SB 483)
• Revenue required by law or fiduciary duty to be distributed to another person or 

governmental entity

• Taxes collected from 3rd party and remitted to taxing authority

• Reimbursements for advances that are made but not related to sale of goods or 
services

• Amounts mandated by contract to be paid to others in specific circumstances
• Sales commissions paid to non employees (like real estate)
• contractors payments to sub contractors are not included in revenue calculation 

for contractor but would be included in revenue of subcontractors.

• Amounts  lawyers hold in trust accounts or amounts paid to another attorney who 
provided legal services and who is not part of the firm and reimbursements from a 
claimant for expenses of the claimant’s case. 

• Affiliated group revenue transfers.  An affiliated group has two or more businesses 
controlled by (50% ownership/possession)one or more common owners or members of 
the group.



Nevada Gross Revenue
Revenue related to your Nevada transaction

• Tangible personal property sold to a consumer who is in 
Nevada  - it is where it is received by the customer in 
Nevada (similar to sales tax rules)

• For revenue related to the sale of services, it is the 
location where the benefit is received by the purchaser.  
(i.e. is the purchaser located in Nevada, is the service 
provided by a Nevada business for a Nevada benefit.)

• For real property if the real property is located in 
Nevada.



Commerce Tax:
Gross Revenue includes

• Gross revenue from the sales of property or services

• Gross revenue from transportation services if both the origin 
and destination points are in Nevada

• Gross royalty income from property located in Nevada

• Gross receipts from any other business function in Nevada



Tax Rates based on NAICS Code

• 26 different NAICS categories for purposes of the 
Commerce Tax each with a different tax rate.

• A business entity’s category depends on the type of 
business it is primarily engaged in.  
• If an entity has more than one type of business activity, it is the 

category where the highest percentage of the revenue comes 
from.

• The business entity must report their NAICS category 
on the annual Commerce tax return.



NAICS 
Category

INDUSTRY Tax Rate

11 Agriculture, Forestry, Hunting .063%

21 Mining, Quarrying, Oil and Gas Extraction .051%

22/517 Utilities and Telecommunications .136%

23 Construction .083%
31-33 Manufacturing .091%

42 Wholesale Trade .101%
44-45 Retail Trade .111%
481 Air Transportation .058%
484 Truck Transportation .202%

Sections 24-49 of SB 483 set forth the rate of the Commerce Tax 
for the industry in which a business entity is primarily engaged as 
follows:



NAICS 
Category

INDUSTRY Tax Rate

482 Rail Transportation .331%
483, 485-488, 

491-492
Other Transportation .129%

493 Warehousing and Storage .128%
511, 512, 
515, 518

Publishing, Software, Data Processing .253%

52 Finance and Insurance .111%
53 Rental & Leasing .25%
54 Professional, Scientific or Technical 

Services
.181%

55 Management of Companies and 
Enterprises

.137%

561 Administrative and Support Services .154%

562 Waste Management and Remediation 
Services

.261%



NAICS 
Category

INDUSTRY Tax Rate

61 Education Services .281%

62 Health Care and Social Assistance .190%

71 Arts, Entertainment and Recreation .24%

721 Accommodations .20%

722 Food Services and Drinking Places .194%

81 Other Services .142%

Unclassified Unclassified Business .128%



How Do I Determine My NAICS?

• Taxpayers use NAICS codes currently

• https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/faqs/faqs.html#q1

• NAICS search tool at http://www.naics.com/search/



How Do I Determine NAICS?



How Do I Determine NAICS?



Other SB 483 Changes
Related to the Commerce Tax

Sec. 68 of SB 438

Effective July 1, 2016:

• An MBT deduction of 50% of the Commerce Tax paid 
is allowed against the Modified Business Tax liability 
by the entity that paid the Commerce Tax.
• Credit good for 4 calendar quarters following 

payment of the Commerce Tax
• Credit cannot be more than the MBT liability



Please visit our Web Site at 
http://www.tax.nv.gov

or one of our offices at the following locations:
Northern Nevada:

Main Office
1550 College Parkway, Suite 100
Carson City NV 89706

Phone: (775) 684-2000
Fax: (775) 684-2020

Reno District Office
Kietzke Plaza
4600 Kietzke Lane, Bldg L, Suite 235 
Reno, NV 89502 

Phone: (775) 687-9999
Fax: (775) 688-1303

Southern Nevada:
Henderson District Office
2550 Paseo Verde Pkwy, Suite 180
Henderson, Nevada 89074 

Phone: (702) 486-2300
Fax: (702) 486-3377

Las Vegas District Office
Grant Sawyer Office Building
555 E. Washington Ave, Suite 1300
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Phone:  (702) 486-2300
Fax:  (702) 486-2372

Taxpayer Call Center: (866) 962-3707


