State of Nevada
Department of Taxation

Welcome
to

“Ask the Advisors”
Basic Training



Mission Statement

e Provide Fair, Efficient and Effective
Administration of Tax Programs for the State
of Nevada in accordance with applicable
statutes, regulations and policies.

e Serve the Taxpayers, State and Local
Government Entities; and enable and
recognize Department employees.



Why are you here today?

To learn about:
* Nevada Taxes
* Business Registration Requirements
 Payments and Filing Returns
e Electronic Filing Requirements



Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights

* Available on the Department of Taxation website
at http://tax.nv.gov

* Provided when business” are newly registered or
when audited

* Provided upon request, also see NRS 360.291



Licenses & Permits

 The Nevada Business Registration form (NBR) is
required to obtain a sales or use tax permit to
conduct business in the State of Nevada.

* Retailers pay a $15.00 sales tax permit fee for
each business location.

e Taxpayers register as a consumer (no retail sales)
for a Business Use Tax account are not required to
pay a permit fee.
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https://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/Forms/Nevada_Business_Registration(1).pdf

Sales Tax — Security Deposits

A person who obtains a sales tax permit is required to post
security deposit as follows:

 Quarterly Filers: Twice the estimated average tax due
quarterly

* Monthly Filers: Three times the estimated tax due monthly

Calculated tax less than $1,000.00: No deposit required

Sales Tax security deposits may be returned after a taxpayer has
established a three year perfect payment record.

NRS 372.510 and 374.515; NAC 372.825



Electronic Filing Requirements

If all payments for taxes, interest, penalties or other
obligations in the aggregate amount to more than
$10,000 the payment MUST be made by electronic

funds transfer.

For more information and to register and pay your
taxes, go to: https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov

Welcome to the Nevada Tax Center

NRS 353.1467


https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/

AN
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How to sign up for the
Nevada Tax Center

K%\ Howe  How To Vidoos
(012 |

Welcome to the New
Nevada Tax Center

The casiest way Lo manage your business tax filings with the Nevada Department of Taxation.
Log Inor Sign Up to get started with managing your business and filings online.




Sales / Use Tax



Nevada Tax Rates by County

Churchill = 7.600%

Clark = 8.375%

* Effective 01/01/2020

Douglas — 7.100%

Elko — 7.100%

* Rate effective 07/01/2016

Esmeralda — 6.850%

Eureka — 6.850%

Humboldt — 6.850%

Lander — 7.100%

Lincoln = 7.100%

Lyon — 7.100%

Mineral — 6.850%

Nye — 7.600%

Carson City — 7.600%

Pershing — 7.100%

Storey — 7.600%

Washoe — 8.265%

* Rate effective 04/01/2017

White Pine— 7.725%

Nevada’s Sales & Use Tax
rates vary by county.
Taxes are applied in the
county the transaction
takes place or the county
the delivery is made.

Nevada’s Largest Cities
Las Vegas * Clark Co. * 8.375%
Henderson * Clark Co. * 8.375%
Reno * Washoe Co. * 8.265%
Laughlin * Clark Co. * 8.375%
Stateline (Tahoe) * Douglas Co * 7.100%
Carson City * Carson Co. * 7.600%

All tax rates are now permanent



Sales and Use Tax References

e Statutes - NRS

e Regulations - NAC

e Publications - Tax Notes
Technical Bulletins

e Other — FAQ’s

Sales and use tax references are Chapters 372,
374, 360 and 360B



Sales tax is due on the sale for retail of Tangible
Personal Property which may be:

* Seen

* Weighed

e Measured

* Felt

* Touched or s

* In any other manner perceptible to the senses.

The sales of all tangible personal property is taxable unless
specifically exempt by statute.

NRS 360B.095



What is taxable? * Gross Receipts

e Retailer’s Discounts
e Tax Inclusive

e Services necessary for a Sale



Sales Tax Included in the Price

e How to adjust the sales price if sales tax was included in the
sales price of tangible personal property:

CALCULATION: Example uses Clark County tax rate

Sale amount including tax: $1,000

Divide the $1,000 by tax rate: $1,000 / 1.08375 = $922.72
Report in Column A: $922.72

PROOF: $922.72x8.375% = S 77.28
$922.72 + $77.28 = $1,000.00

e Report the gross sales amount less the amount allocated to
tax in column A of the sales tax return.

NAC 372.760



Freight, Transportation or Delivery

e There are two components of delivery charges. Generally, delivery
charges are subject to Nevada sales tax when they are charged as
part of the retail sale of tangible personal property.

e However, transportation, shipping or postage charges that are
incurred by the seller and separately stated on the invoice, billing
or other document given to the purchaser are not subject to
Nevada’s sales tax.

— Example: The seller passes through to the purchaser the amount it paid to get
the item delivered to the purchaser by UPS, FedEx or the U.S. Postal Service
(no markup).
e Charges for handling, packing and crating as part of the delivery

charge are taxable whether or not separately stated.

NRS 360B.290, NRS 360B.425 and NRS 360B.480, NAC 372.101, Tax Bulletin SUT 15-
0002



Leases

Sales tax on the rental stream

Re-rentals ok

Burden of tax on lessee

Take no action = MUST tax on rental stream

Leases between related parties must be at fair rental
value

NRS 372.105; NRS 372.050; NRS 360B.450; NRS 360B.080; NAC 372.936;
NAC 372.938; NAC 372.940, Tax Bulletin SUT 14-0001



Over Collection of Sales Tax

e Return to the customer
OR

e Remit to the Department of Taxation

NAC 372.765



Absorption of Tax

e Taxpayers CANNOT advertise they will pay the sales
tax.

e Taxpayers CAN state that “sales tax is included in the
price”.

e |f there is no such statement on the invoice or a sign
that states sales tax is included, then the sale is
subject to taxation on the entire amount.

NRS 372.115; NAC 372.760



Sales Tax Exemptions

e Sales to or by exempt agencies or government

entities
e QOut-of-state sales; other state’s sales tax is due

e Sales for resale

e Services not associated with a sale of tangible
personal property

e Installation labor and repair labor



Exempt Sales

Records to maintain:
e Shipping documents
>  Qut-of-state sales
e Resale Certificates
> Selling to other retailers
e Exemption letters
> Nevada National Guardsmen
>  Churches
>  Educational Organizations
e United States and Nevada Governments
>  Purchase orders
>  Copy of Governmental credit card



Resale Certificate

I hereby certify that I hold valid seller's permit number |°Q900Md pursuant to
chapters 372, 374 and 377 of the Nevada Revised Statutes; that | am engaged in the business of
seling PDRAKSSES ~; and that the tangible personal property described in
the second paragraph of this certificate, which I purchase from:
, will be resold by me in the form of tangible personal
property. 1 further certify that in the event any of the property is used for any purpose other than
retention, demonstration or display while 1 am holding it for sale in the regular course of
business, it is understood that I am required by chapters 372, 374 and 377 of the Nevada Revised
Statutes to report it and pay the tax measured by the purchase price of the property.
Description of the property to be purchased:

Dresseg, BELTS

Purchaser -9 S' s
Address




% | How to complete the Combined Sales and
K Use Tax Return
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Welcome to the New
Nevada Tax Center

The easiest way Lo manage your business tax filings with the Nevada Department of Taxation.
Log Inor Sign Up to get started with managing your business and filings online.




COMBINED SALES & USE TAX RETURN

If prepared on-line,
this form calculates
tax, interest and
penalty for the
appropriate periods.
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Sales Tax Return

Reporting frequency is monthly. The tax is due and payable on or

before the last day of the next month.

If a business has sales of less than $10,000 per month, then the filing

frequency may be quarterly.

If a retailer had sales of less than $1,500 in the immediate proceeding
year they may request their filing frequency to be changed to

annually.

Retailers are allowed an allowance of 0.25% of the taxes collected for
the cost of collecting the tax only if they file their return timely. This

is referred to as a collection allowance.

NRS3 72.370 & NRS 372.380



e Use Tax is a mirror of sales tax, same tax rate.

e Use Tax is due on all tangible personal property
brought into Nevada, for storage, use, or other
consumption when Nevada sales tax has not been

charged.

e To ‘even the competitive advantage’ that out of
state vendors have when selling a product without
tax, when a registered Nevada vendor must charge

the tax.
NRS 372.185, NRS 372.190



Who is required to be registered?

e Any business who purchases tangible personal
property, except inventory, without paying Nevada
sales tax is required to be registered and report the
use tax on the purchase.

e Any individual who makes a purchase without

paying the tax should contact the Department to
pay the tax.



Use Tax

What is taxable? e Construction contractors pay
the use tax on building
materials they consume in

performance of the contract.
* Internet/Catalog Sales

e Untaxed purchases from out

of state/internet vendors
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Modified Business Tax




Modified Business Tax

General Businesses — NRS 363B

Financial Institutions and Mining — NRS 363A



Modified Business Tax

Who is required to be registered?

e Any business who is required to pay a contribution
for unemployment insurance

— Except:.
e Indian Tribe
e Nonprofit organization under 26 U.S.C. 501(c)
e Political subdivision

NRS 363A.030, NRS 363B.030



Modified Business Tax

What to report? < Wages taken from Employment
Security Department (ESD) form NUCS
4072 or Ul Nevada online return

?
What to deduct: e Deductions for employer-paid health

insurance is allowed

e Deductions for wages paid to
qgualifying veterans for specific periods
of time (AB71)

NRS 363A.130, NRS 363A.135, NRS 363B.110,
NRS 363B.115



Modified Business Tax

Employer-paid insurance deduction includes:

e Self-insured employer: all amounts paid for
claims, premiums, stop-loss, if the program is
a qualified employee welfare benefit plan

e Premiums for a policy of health insurance for
employees

e Payments to a Taft-Hartley trust

NRS 363A.135, NRS 363B.115



Modified Business Tax

Employer-paid insurance
deduction DOES NOT include:

Amounts paid by the
employee

Workmen’s
compensation
insurance

Life insurance
Disability

NRS 363A.135, NRS 363B.115



Modified Business Tax

Categories and Rates

(Effective 7/1/2015)

e General Business.......cccceovvevvveennnn. 1.475%

— on wages over $50,000 in a calendar quarter
— a return still must be filed if wages are under $50,000 in a
quarter

e Financial Institutions and Mining............ 2.00%

NRS 363A.130, 363B.110
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Modified Business Tax - Credits

Allowable Credit Types
(Effective 7/1/2015)

e Newly hired veteran (Effective until
07/31/2022)

e Prepaid tuition contracts and college savings
trust account

e Scholarship donation made through Nevada
Educational Choice Scholarship Program

NRS 363A.130, 363A.133, 363A.137, 363A.139 and NRS 363B.113, 363B.117, 363B.119



COMMERCE TAX




Commerce Tax

e The Commerce Tax is an annual tax on all business entities engaged

in business in Nevada whose Nevada gross revenue exceeds S4M.

e Prior to 2018-2019 tax year all businesses were required to file a
Commerce Tax return regardless of the Nevada gross revenue.
However, during the 2019 Legislative session SB497 was passed
which states that beginning with the 2018-2019 tax year only a
business that has Nevada gross revenue which exceeds $4M will be

required to file a Commerce Tax return.

NRS 363C



Commerce Tax

e |f subsequently Nevada gross revenue of a business exceeds S4M, a

Commerce tax return must be filed for that year.

e To register for Commerce Tax the Nexus questionnaire or Nevada
Business Registration form should be used. Once registered, a
business will receive a “Welcome to Nevada Commerce Tax” letter
with a Commerce Tax ID and an access code to e-file the returns via

Nevada Tax Center.

e More information about Commerce Tax can be found at

Department’s website https://tax.nv.gov/WelcometoCOM/ .

NRS 363C


https://tax.nv.gov/WelcometoCOM/

Commerce Tax Credit

e Businesses, which pay Commerce Tax, are entitled to a Commerce
Tax credit toward their Modified Business Tax liability.

e Allowable Commerce Tax credit is 50% of the Commerce Tax paid
for the preceding Commerce Tax year and is valid for 4 sequential
quarters.

e Those with complex business structures in which one affiliated
entity pays Commerce Tax and another affiliated entity pays
Modified Business Tax have to submit an Affiliated Group Payroll
Provider Application (AGPPA) for approval before applying
Commerce Tax credit.

e Commerce Tax credit is monitored. If incorrectly applied, a
deficiency notice for underpaid Modified Business Tax, including
penalty and interest, will be sent.

NRS 363A, NRS 363B, NAC 363A, NAC 363B
NRS 363C



Significant Changes 2019

e Marketplace Facilitator’s — AB 445 effective 10/01/19 requires a marketplace
facilitator to collect and remit Nevada sales tax if the marketplace facilitator’s
sales in the calendar year or immediately preceding year were over $100,000.00
or 200 separate retail sales.

— A Marketplace Facilitator and Marketplace Seller can enter into a written
agreement specifying certain conditions which include that the Marketplace
Seller is registered with Nevada to hold a Nevada sales tax permit and
assumes responsibility for the collection and remittance of the Nevada sales
tax for all Nevada retail sales made by the Marketplace Seller through the
Marketplace Facilitator. The Marketplace Facilitator has the responsibility of
providing the agreement to the Department prior to facilitating Nevada retail
sales on behalf of the Marketplace Seller.



Significant Changes 2019

e Remote Sellers — “Wayfair Decision” - Requires remote sellers to collect sales tax
from Nevada customers if they meet the requirements - More than $100,000 of
retail sales into Nevada, or 200 or more separate retail transactions for delivery into
the state (effective 10/01/2018).

— A Remote Seller is defined as a retailer who does not have a physical presence in
Nevada; but makes retail sales of tangible personal property that are delivered
into Nevada.

— A Remote Seller is different from an In-State Seller. In-State Sellers have a
physical presence (nexus) in Nevada, such as traditional “brick and mortar”
stores, offices, warehouses, employees/representatives located in or coming
into the state. NEXUS includes retail inventory stored in Nevada.




Significant Changes 2019

e Medical Equipment — SB447 effective 07/01/19 exempts certain medical
equipment from Nevada sales and use tax if prescribed for human use by a
licensed provider of health care.

Physicians assistant is a provider of health care.
Durable Medical Equipment defined in NAC 372.020

Mobility Enhancing Equipment defined in NAC 372.024 with additional examples to include
without limitation; wheelchairs, walkers, canes, crutches, mobility enhancing car seats for
children with disabilities and swivel seats for persons with disabilities.

Oxygen Delivery Equipment means equipment, including and repair and replacement parts
therefore which is used to deliver oxygen or aerosolized medicine to a person. The term
includes without limitation; tanks and concentrators, ventilators, nebulizers, oral nasal
cannulas and continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) machines.

Medical Equipment does not include hearing aides or glasses.



Closing an Account

Closing your account:
If you close or sell your business, you must contact the
Department. You can cancel your account by

econtacting us by phone
ewritten correspondence
evisiting us at one of our 4 district offices.

However you choose to contact us, certain information will be
required in order to expedite the canceling of your account
and refund any security deposit or credits to which you may
be entitled.



Website Information

http:\\tax.nv.gov

Department of Taxation

e Excise Taxes - Tire, Liquor, Short-Term Lease, Tobacco,

Mining, Transportation Network Company fees, etc.
e Adult use Marijuana
e Legislative Tax Changes when signed into law
e FAQ’s and Tax PowerPoints
e Quick Links - Specific tax information and updates

e Links to Nevada home page, IRS, ESD, DMV, etc.


https://tax.nv.gov/

Ask the Advisor

Several tax presentations are available on the
Department’s website.

These presentations are in the form of PowerPoint or
PDF files and can be downloaded.

Go to the Department website at https://tax.nv.gov
and click on the following links:

. FAQ's
. Helpful Tax PowerPoints

. Select one of the presentations


https://tax.nv.gov/

Ask the Advisor

e Basic Training

e Repairs & Delivery Charges
e Medical

e Construction

e Modified Business Tax

e Leases

e Other Tobacco Products

e The Audit Process

e Short Term Leases

e Automotive



Written Response

e Most tax issues can be addressed by the
Department of Taxation. Others may require
Attorney General written opinions.

e Please be advised that any responses to
inquires made to the Department are only
binding if put in writing, such as Nevada
Revised Statutes, Administrative Code,
Nevada Tax Notes, Nevada Technical Bulletins,
or in written correspondence.



Department of Taxation

Contact Information

Our offices are open Monday-Friday
8:00 AM -5:00 PM

Contact our CALL CENTER at
1-866-962-3707

Las Vegas: Carson City:

Grant Sawyer Office Building 1550 College Parkway

555 E. Washington Avenue Suite 115

Suite 1300 Carson City, NV 89706-7937
Las Vegas, NV 89101

Henderson: Reno:

2550 Paseo Verde Parkway 4600 Kietzke Lane

Suite 180 Building L, Suite 235

Henderson, NV 89074 Reno, NV 89502



Questions?




