STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

ASK THE ADVISORS

BASIC TAX
ACADEMY




MISSION STATEMENT

* To provide fair, efficient and effective
administration of tax programs for the

State of Nevada Iin accordance with
applicable statutes, regulations and

policies.

* To serve the taxpayers, state and local
government entities...



Why am | here

today?

To Learn About:

Taxes!

Business Registration Requirements
Streamlined Agreement

Payments & Filing Returns

Audit Process

Electronic Filing Requirements
General Questions and Clarifications



TAXPAYERS BILL OF RIGHTS

A publication containing the Bill of Rights for
Taxpayers Is provided:

« When you register with the
Department

e |f the business Is audited, or
« Upon request @

NRS 360.291



LICENSES & PERMITS

- The Nevada Business Registration form

(NBR) and the Supplemental form are required
to obtain a sales or use tax permit for your
business in the State of Nevada

 Retailers pay a $15.00 sales tax permit fee for
each business location. This Is a one time fee only
unless there is a change in ownership or location.

o Taxpayers registering as aconsumer (no retail
sales) are not required to pay a permit fee.
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SALES TAX ~ SECURITY DEPOSITS

Retailers must also deposit with the Department a
security deposit as follows:

v'Quarterly Filers: Twice the estimated average tax due
quarterly

v'"Monthly Filers: Three times the estimated tax due
monthly if the retailer files monthly

v Annual Filers: Four times the estimated annual
amount If the retailer files annually.

Calculated tax LESS than $1,000:
NO DEPOSIT REQUIRED!

After three full years of perfect reporting, you may apply for a
waiver of the security requirement NRS 372510 / NAC 372.825



ELECTRONIC FILING
REQUIREMENTS

All payments of money for taxes, interest,
penalties or other obligations In the aggregate

amount to $10,000 or more MUST be made by
electronic transfer

For more information and to register and pay your taxes, go to:

https://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/web



How to sign up for the
Nevada Tax Center










2015 Changes

MBT Exempt Wages change to $50,000 from $85,000 (SB
483). New rate I1s 1.475% for General Business. Mines are
now taxed at the 2% Financial Institution rate. (effective
7/1/2015).

Employee Leasing Companies can now take the $50,000 MBT
exemption for each of their clients (AB 389)(effective
10/1/2015)

Most taxes that were to sunset now made permanent (SB 483)
(effective 7/1/2015)

Live Entertainment Tax (LET) changed to one rate of 9% on
admission fee only; most outdoor events now included. Escort
Services and disc jockeys included. (Effective 10/1/2015)

Passenger Transportation Tax (PTT)-monthly 3% excise tax
on fares of taxicabs, common motor carrier of passengers and
transportation network companies.



Sales Tax




Rates effective 7/1/2016

New Tax Rates by County

Churchill = 7.600%

Clark — 8.15% *

Douglas — 7.100%

Elko — 7.100%

Esmeralda — 6.850%

Eureka — 6.850%

Humboldt — 6.850%

Lander — 7.100%

Lincoln —7.100%

Lyon — 7.100%

Mineral — 6.850%

Nye — 7.600%

Carson City — 7.60%

Pershing — 7.100%

Storey — 7.600%

Washoe — 7.725%

White Pine— 7.725%

Nevada’'s Sales & Use Tax
rates vary by county.
Taxes are applied in the
county the transaction
takes place, or the county
the delivery is made.

Nevada’'s Largest Cities
Las Vegas * Clark Co. * 8.15%
Henderson * Clark Co. * 8.15%
Reno * Washoe Co. * 7.725%
Laughlin * Clark Co. * 8.15%
Stateline (Tahoe) * Douglas Co * 7.1%
Carson City * Carson Co. * 7.60%

**Clark County sales tax rate increased effective
01/01/16

**Elko Count sales tax rate increased effective
07/01/16

All tax rates are now permanent



SALES/USE TAX

_______________________________ REFERENCES |
e Statutes a/k/a NRS
 Regulations a/k/a NAC
 Publications Tax Notes

Technical Bulletins
e Other FAQS

For sales and use tax, references are
to Chapters 372, 374, 360 and 360b



SALES TAX

Sales tax is due on the sale for retail of
angible Personal Property which may be:
= Seen

= Weighed

= Measured

= Felt

= Touched or is
* |[n any other manner perceptible to the senses.

The sales of all tangible personal property is taxable unless
specifically exempted by statute

NRS 360B.095



SALES TAX

What's taxable?

 Gross Receipts

» Delivery Charges
e Not All Discounts
e Tax inclusive

e Services assoclated with a sale




ADJUSTING SALES TAX P
Sales tax included in the price of the sale T

— Report the gross sales amount less the
amount allocated to tax.

CALCULATION: (Assume Clark County Sale)
Assume: $1,000 sale includes tax
Divide the $1,000 by our tax rate---

$1,000/ 1.0815

Report in Column A: $ 924.64
PROOF: $924.64 x 8.15% = $ 75.36
$924.64 + $74.36 = $1,000.00



FABRICATION LABOR

e Labor used to

.......... change tangible personal property to
another form and billed in a retall sale.....




REFURBISH LABOR

e Labor used to refurbish an item of tangible
personal property to restore or refit it for
the use for which it was originally
produced...........

ey i
1t Somahlal

N L —




FREIGHT, TRANSPORTATION OR DELIVERY
CHARGES

e Charges for transportation, shipping
or postage are no longer subject to
Sales & Use Tax If they are
separately stated on the invoice.

are taxable whether or not separately
stated.

NRS 360B.290, NRS 360B.425 and NRS 360B.480, NAC 372.101



BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS

e Bundled Transactions

— A retall sale of two or more products in which
only some of the products are normally
taxable, distinct and identifiable from each
other BUT sold together for a single non-
itemized/non-negotiable price, then.....

— It's considered BUNDLED and....
&—

— the entire bundle is subject to sales tax! i @

NAC 372.045



BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS

e Bundled Transactions

— IF primary reason for transaction is a sale of
g)

a service, then..... ;42
e the transaction is NOT considered

bundled AND......

Use tax Is due on the cost of the

tangible personal property using the cost of
the item to the retailer as the use taxable

measure.

NAC 372.045



BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS

The Bundled Transactions regulation also addresses
the taxability of Tangible Personal Property (TPP):

o Where the TPP includes taxable and nontaxable
products and the taxable TPP is 10% or less of sale or
purchase price

* Where the TPP includes food, drugs, durable medical
equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, prosthetic
devices or medical supplies and the TPP is 50% or less of
total sale or purchase price

NAC 372.045



LEASES

Streamlined Tax changed leases:

Now sales tax instead of use tax
Re-rentals ok
Burden on lessee

Take no action = MUST tax on rental
stream

Leases between related parties must be at
fair rental value



OVER COLLECTION OF SALES TAX

e Return to the
customer

OR

« Remit to the
Department of
Taxation

NAC 372.765



ABSORPTION OF TAX

 Taxpayers CANNOT advertise they will pay
the sales tax (NRS 372.115)

. Taxpayers CAN state that “sales tax iIs
included....” (NAC 372.760)

 If there is no such statement on the invoice
or a sign that states that sales tax is
Included, then the sale is subject to taxation
on the entire amount or portion that Is
separated out relating to tangible personal
property (NAC 372.760




SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS

Sales to or by Exempt agencies or

Government entities

o K-

Out-of-state sales © &

o o
o

Sales for resale R

Services not assoclated with a sale of
tangible personal property

Installation labor and Repair labor



EXEMPT SALES
RECORDS TO KEEP

Shipping documents

>  out of state sales
Resale Certificates

>  Selling to other retailers

Exemption letters

> Nevada National Guardsmen
>  Churches
> Educational Organizations

United States and Nevada Governments

> Purchase orders
>  Copy of Governmental credit card



RESALE CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that I hold valid seller's permit number ‘OOOOOMd pursuant to

chapters 372, 374 and 377 of the Nevada Revised Statutes; that | am engaged in the business of
selling DE E <SSEs ; and that the tangible personal property described in
the  second  paragraph  of  this  certificate, ~ which | purchase  from:
AMW , will be resold by me in the form of tangible personal
property. 1 er certify that in the event any of the property is used for any purpose other than
retention, demonstration or display while T am holding it for sale in the regular course of
business, it is understood that I am required by chapters 372, 374 and 377 of the Nevada Revised

Statutes to report it and pay the tax measured by the purchase price of the property.
Description of the property to be purchased:

ELTS

Purchaser «O [ 4 s

ignature of Authorized Purchaser

Dated ‘ "Ja" //
« enderson, Nerada_




HOW TO FILL OUT A COMBINED SALES
& USE TAX RETURN

How to fill out a
Combined Sales &
Use Tax Return







COMBINED SALES & USE TAX RETURN

This form is a
universal form that
will calculate tax,
Interest and
penalty for the
appropriate
periods if used on-
line.
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SALES TAX RETURN

Reporting frequency is monthly. The tax is due and payable on

or before the last day of the next month.

If a business has sales of less that $10,000 per month, then the
filing frequency may be quarterly.
If a retailer had sales of less than $1,500 in the immediate

proceeding year they may request their filing frequency to be

changed to annually.

Retailers are allowed an allowance of 0.25% of the taxes
collected for the cost of collecting the tax only if they file their

return timely. This is referred to as a collection allowance.

NRS 372.370 NRS 372.380



USE TAX

What I1s Use Tax?

Use Tax Is a mirror of the sales tax, same rate. The
tax IS meant to ‘even the competitive advantage’ that
out of state vendors have when selling a product
without tax, when a Nevada vendor must charge the
tax. The tax is due on all tangible personal property
brought into this state, for storage, use or other
consumption in this state, and where Nevada sales
tax has not been charged.



USE TAX

Who is required to be registered?

Any business who purchases tangible personal *
property without paying Nevada sales tax Is
required to be registered and report the use tax
on the purchase.

Any individual who makes a large purchase

without paying the tax should contact the
Department to pay the tax



USE TAX

What’s taxable?

e Contractors pay use tax on the building

materials they use.

e |Internet/Catalog Sales k

« Purchases from out of state \\/
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USE TAX

Computer Software

Taxable Ac 372.880):

-Prewritten computer software (NRS 360B.470) (including
updates received via tangible means-C.D.s, etc.)

-Licensing fees for Standard Prewritten programs

Not Taxable:

-Custom computer Software (including updates/upgrades and
support services) (NAC 372.875)

- Custom programming Services, separately stated (NAC
372.875)

-Delivered electronically (or by Load and Leave) (NRS
360B.420) (downloaded software, digital books, ringtones, etc.)




H000F1eD BUSINESS T



General — NRS 363B

Financial Institutions — NRS 363A



Who is required to be registered?

Any business who Is required to pay a contribution
for unemployment insurance

Indian Tribe
Nonprofit organization under 26 US.C.501(c)
Political subdivision

NRS 363A.030
NRS 363B.030



What to report?

B Wages taken from Employment Security Department (ESD) '

form NUCS 4072
NRS 363A.130

NRS 363B.110

What to deduct?

¢ Deductions for employer-paid health insurance

allowed NRS 363A.135
NRS 363B.115

<+ Deductions for Wages paid to qualifyin'g veterans
for specific periods of time (s ﬁ'




Employer-paid insurance deduction
Includes:

1. Self-insured employer: all amounts paid for
claims, premiums, stop-loss, if the program
IS a qualified employee welfare benefit plan

2. Premiums for a policy of health msurance
~ for employees

3. Payments to a Taft-Hartley trust

NRS 363A.135
NRS 363B.115



Employer-paid insurance deduction DOES NOT

Include:

Amounts paid by the employee
Workmen’s compensation insurance
Life insurance

Disability

ottt TR0 Sl

NRS 363A.135
NRS 363B.115



- Cateqgories and Rates (EFFECTIVE 7/1/2015)

General Business....... # ............. 1.475%

........... on wages over $50,000 in a calendar quarter
(note: a return still must be filed if wages are under $50,000 in a quarter)

NRS 363B.110

NRS 363A.130
SB 483



NEVADA DEFARTMENT OF TAXATION

MODIFIED BUSINESS TAX RETURN
GENERAL BUSINESS  (Effective July 1, 2015)

Mail Original To: NEVADA DEPARTMEMNT OF TAXATION
PO BOX 52609
FPHOENIX AZ 85072-2808

TID NO:020-TX

FOR DEFARTMENT USE OHLY

PERIOD ENDING: 0ar30M5s [+
DUE BY: 110213

DATE PAID: 08/6/15

IF POSTMARKED AFTER DUE DATE, PENALTY AND INTEREST
WILL APPLY. K the address as shown is incomect. please make any

1. TOTAL GROSS WAGES (INCLUDING TIPS) PAID THIS QUARTER 1
Z2a. ENTER DEDUCTION FOR PAID HEALTH INSURANCE/MHEALTH BENEFITS PLAN]: 2a.
2b. ENTER DEDUCTION FOR QUALIFIED VETERANS WAGES (See Instructions) b,

3. Line 1 minus Line 2a and Line 2b

4. Offset Carried Forward from Previous Quarter

5. Line 3 minus Line 4

7. ENTER THRESHOLD OF 550.000.

8. TAXABLE WAGES (Line § minus Line 7, but not less than $0)

8. CALCULATED TAX (Line & x 01475)

10. CREDITS (Owerpayments or other approved credits, see instructions)
11. MET TAX DUE (Line & minus Line 10)

12. PEMALTY (LIME 12 x 0% see instructions)

13. INTEREST (See instructions for current rate and calculation)

14. PREVIOUE DEBITS (Dutstanding liabilities)

15. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (Line 11 + Line 12 + Line 12 # Line 14)

18. AMOUNT PAID

17. CARRY FORWARD (If Line 5 is less than zero (0 enter
amount here. This Offset will be caried forward for the ned quarter)

3
4
5
6. TAXABLE WAGES (If ine 5 is greater than zero enter amount here, if less than zero enter on Line 17) 6.
T
8
g

comections before g the return. Use the space on the: left for
these comections.

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO NEVADA DEPT OF TAXATION - A RETURN MUST BE FILED EVEN IF NO TAX LIABILITY EXISTS

| Nerety cestify inaf this retum,
ENTER NAME OF PERSON InciLding any accompanying
SIGNING RETURN schedules and statements, has been
examined by me and to the best af
Signature Phone Date. my ame,
colmect and compiste refurm. THIS
Title FEIN of Business Named Alove RETURN MUST BE SIGNED

Te e-mail, save this form to your computer

and e-mail the attachment to: TRR-IZOE
nevadaolt@tax state mv.us MET-GB

Revised 0714115

with the subject of "Modified Eusiness Tax Return’

This form is a
universal form
that will
calculate tax,
interest and

penalty for the
appropriate
periods if used
on-line.




COMMON ERRORS

» \Wages not same as reported to
Employment Security Department

» Forgot to take health insurance
deduction

» Took health care deduction for
Insurance not authorized by NRS 363A or
NRS 363B

» Took health care deduction for portion
of premium that the employee paid.

» Filing multiple returns due to new tiered
rate







The Commerce Tax is an annual tax on all Nevada businesses

with Nevada gross revenue over $4 million.

However, all business entities are required to file a Commerce Tax

return, even if there is no tax due.

Business entities include all corporations, partnerships, sole
proprietorships, LLCs, joint ventures, farms and persons renting

out property in Nevada.
The tax rate is based on industry NAICS codes.
The taxable year is 07/01 through 6/30.

The first Commerce Tax return is due 8/15/2016.
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There is a simplified way for businesses with less then $4 million in
Nevada gross revenue to file their Commerce tax return.

The return contains a check box for the business to affirm their Nevada
gross revenue were less than $4 million in the year.

Businesses will be receiving a “Welcome Letter” from the Department
with instructions of how to register for the Commerce tax.

The letter will also contain information on where to find the Commerce
tax return and instructions. The returns will not be mailed out. The letter
will also contain instructions on how to file on line.

For those with Nevada gross revenue over $4 million the letter will
contain information regarding which tax rate to use.
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Businesses who pay Commerce Tax are also entitled to a credit
toward their MBT liability which is equal to 50% of their Commerce
Tax paid. The credit can be taken beginning the first quarter after
the first payment of Commerce Tax.

Example: Retail Trade Business has a tax rate of 0.111%

Income $5,000,000 50% MBT credit $1,110 * .50 =
exempt ($4,000,000) $ 555.00
Taxable $1,000,000

Tax @ 0.111% $ 1,110
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e Visit our website for more Commerce Tax
Information and Frequently Asked Questions at:
http://tax.nv.gov/WelcometoCOM/

 Or, email your Commerce Tax Questions to:
comtax@tax.state.nv.us
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CANCELING YOUR ACCOUNT

Closing your account:
If you close or sell your business, you must contact
the Department. You can cancel your account by,

scontacting us by phone

swritten correspondence
svisiting us at one of our 4 district offices.

However you choose to contact us, certain
Information will be required in order to expedite the
canceling of your account and refund any security
deposit or credits to which you may be entitled.



Website Information
http:\\tax.nv.gov

Excise Taxes (Tire, Liquor, Short-term Lease, tobacco,

mining, etc., Transportation Network Company fees)

Legislative Tax Changes when signhed into

law

FAQ'Ss (+ additional powerpoints on other tax issues)

Quick Links (Specific tax information, updates)

Links (Nevada home page, IRS, ESD, DMV, etc.)



ASK THE ADVISOR

Several tax presentations are available on
the Department’s website.

These presentations are In the form of
power-point or PDF files and can be
downloaded.

Go to the Department website, click on the following
links:

= FAQ’S
> Helpful Tax Powerpoints
v Select one of the presentations

more



ASK THE ADVISOR

¢+ Basic Training

**Repairs & Delivery Charges
“*Medical

s Construction

**Modified Business Tax

“»Leases

«»Other Tobacco Products Tax information on
«The Audit Process Spe\;\ﬁ'\?'cch'z?g 5
**Short term leases available on the
*Automotive Department’s

website.



WRITTEN RESPONSE

Most tax issues can be addressed by the
Department of Taxation. Please be advised
that any responses to inquires made to the
Department are only binding if put in writing,
such as Nevada Revised Statutes,
Administrative Code, Nevada Tax Notes
Nevada Technical Bulletins, or in written

correspondence. %



DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
Contact Information

Our offices are open Monday-Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Contact our CALL CENTER at
1-866-962-3707

Southern Nevada:

Grant Sawyer Office Building fgggogoﬁ:;;ye' Pas

555 E. Washington Avenue Suite 115

Suite 1300 :

Las Vegas, NV 89101 Carson City, NV 89706-7937
OR

2550 Paseo Verde Parkway Reno:

Suite 180 4690_Kletzke I__ane

Henderson, NV 89074 Building L, Suite 235

Reno, NV 89502
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