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Nevada Department of Taxation 
Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax 

Annual Report Instructions: Royalty Recipients 
 

Carefully read and follow the instructions provided. 
Failure to do so may result in fines, penalties or both. 

 
1. THE COMPLETED REPORT SHALL BE FILED WITH THIS OFFICE NO LATER THAN 

FEBRUARY 16, 2014.  IF THE DUE DATE FALLS ON A SATURDAY, SUNDAY, OR HOLIDAY, 
THE POSTMARK MUST BE NO LATER THAN THE NEXT IMMEDIATE BUSINESS DAY TO BE 
ACCEPTED AS A TIMELY FILING. 
 

2. Return the completed form to: 
 

Department of Taxation, Centrally-Assessed Properties Section 
1550 College Parkway, Room 115 

Carson City, Nevada  89706 
 
3. The report covers royalties received for the twelve months ending December 31, 2013.  A report must 

be filed showing production royalties received for this period.  Do NOT include non-production based 
royalty payments that are paid regardless of extraction, i.e. minimum advance royalties, lease 
payments, etc.  Attach a copy of IRS Form 1099, if applicable. 

 
4. Enter all information on the Nevada Department of Taxation Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax 

reporting form.  Substitute forms will not be accepted unless they have the identical format. 
 
5. On the provided form, enter values from the appropriate documents and accounting records such as 

check stubs, receipts, account reconciliation statements, and / or IRS Form 1099. 
 
6. Taxpayers may submit amended annual reports up to thirty (30) additional days from the date the 

report was timely filed.  If the report submitted is found to be incomplete the Department may require 
the taxpayer to resubmit the report.  The resubmission must be completed within 10 days of the 
Department demand. 

 
7. Failure to file the report, or failure to file in a timely manner, shall subject the taxpayer to a 

penalty of not more than $5,000, pursuant to NRS 362.230(1).  In addition, other penalties and 
interest may be applied for failure to timely pay the taxes due. 

 
8. Sign and date at the bottom of the Statement of Royalties Received.  Please indicate your phone 

number in case the Department needs to make contact. 
 

9. Additional information, forms, and access to State Statutes (NRS) and Regulations (NAC) may 
directly or indirectly be obtained through the State’s Web Site (http://nv.gov) or the Department’s 
(http://tax.state.nv.us).  Please contact Erin MCMurtrey at (775) 684-2004, Bill Schilling at (775) 
684-2028, or Kirk McElhaney at (775) 684-2033 if you are unclear as to these instructions. 


