Public Information Officer
Public Records Request
The Department of Taxation
works to provide access or copies to public records pursuant to Nevada’s Public
Records Act (Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 239). All public records
associated with the Department, the contents of which are not otherwise
declared by law to be confidential, shall be open for inspection or to obtain
Guidelines for Submitting a Public Records Request
requests is necessary, the Department receives and tracks a high volume of
requests and wants to ensure everyone receives a quick and accurate
out all parts of the request either typewritten or with legible handwriting.
- Due to
the high volume of requests, records accessibility, staff availability and
legal constraints, we may need a few days or sometimes weeks to locate and
produce requested records.
are not always readily available and may be located in archived files.
specific and reduce the scope of the request as much as possible. This
will help focus and expedite the records search.
to NRS Chapter 239.0107, the Department will acknowledge receipt of your
request and provide you a status report within five business days. If
necessary the Department will ask for clarification so it can expedite the
search for records.
We appreciate your patience
as our staff works to provide the requested records to you in timely manner.
To Submit a Public Records Request
submit the request in writing using the Nevada Public Records Request
may be made to the Department’s Public Information Officer
- You can
submit your request by:
to the Department’s Public Information Officer firstname.lastname@example.org
to the attention of the Department’s Public Information Officer -
Department of Taxation, 1550 E. College Parkway Carson City, Nevada 89706
Fees for Public Records
Nevada Revised Statute
239.052 states that a government entity is permitted to charge a fee for the
actual cost incurred in the provision of a public record. This includes,
without limitation, the cost of ink, toner, paper, media, and postage.
The Department will inform
the requester of any fees prior to responding to the request.
Black and white copies, up to
8.5” x 11”: $0.05 per page
Color, up to 8.5” x 11”:
$0.50 per page
Compact Disc/DVD/Thumb Drive:
$5.00 per device