Insurance Premium Tax & FAQ’s
FAQs are for general guidance only. For a written advice, as it relates to your business, please request an advisory opinion, pursuant to NAC 360.190.
Per NRS 680B,
Nevada imposes a tax of 3.5% of net direct premiums written and net direct
considerations written in our state. Qualified Risk Retention Groups pay a
premium tax of 2%.
When are the Quarterly Insurance Returns due?
NRS 680B.032 each quarterly payment is due on the last day of the last month in
each calendar quarter and is payable on or before the last day of the month
next succeeding the calendar quarter for which the payment is due.
How is your filing frequency determined?
NRS 680B.032 each insurer which paid or is required to pay a tax of at least
$2,000 on net direct premiums and net direct considerations written during the
preceding calendar year, shall file a quarterly report.
My Insurance company sent me my renewal notice. My annuity statement indicates I am to pay a tax on my annuity. I have never heard of this before, is this correct?
requires insurers to pay a 3.5% tax on net direct premiums and net direct
considerations written in Nevada. The statute does not prevent the insurer from
passing this cost on to their customers.
Can I file my return online?
required to make your payment online if it is over $10,000; however at this time
you cannot file online and will have to mail the hard copy into the