Nevada Legal Residency

Nevada Legal Residency

Here is an overview of how to establish legal residency in Nevada, with the requirements needed for different purposes, including automobile and voter registration.

Voter Registration

  • Duration of Residency: You must have lived in Nevada for at least 30 days and in your specific voting precinct for at least 10 days before you can register to vote.
  • Proof of Residency: When registering to vote, you need to provide proof that you live in Nevada. This can include documents like a driver’s license, vehicle registration, proof of employment, or property ownership.
  • Also see ELECTIONS on Nevada Secretary of State’s website.

Automobile Registration

  • If you move to Nevada, you must register your vehicle within 45 days of becoming a resident. Please see the DMV website for more information.

Divorce Proceedings

  • To file for divorce in Nevada, you need to have lived in the state for at least six weeks.

General Residency for Legal Rights

  • Physical Presence: Nevada law requires you to be physically present in the state during the entire period you claim residency status.
  • This means that living in Nevada; and simply owning property here is not enough to establish residency.


  • If you are a Nevada resident but are temporarily living outside the state, you can still be considered a resident as long as you intend to return to Nevada.

Example Scenario

Suppose you moved to Nevada on June 1st and want to register to vote in an election scheduled for November. You need to provide evidence of your residency (like a utility bill or lease agreement) and ensure you live in the specific precinct by at least 20 days before the election.

▲ Back to Top