Public Records Request

Public Records Request

The Department of Taxation works to provide access or copies to public records pursuant to Nevada’s Public Records Act (Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 239).

All public records associated with the Department, the contents of which are not otherwise declared by law to be confidential, shall be open for inspection or to obtain copies.

To Submit a Public Records Request

  • Nevada Tax Commission Tel: (775) 684-2096
  • Please submit the request in writing by completing the Nevada Public Records Request Form.
  • Submit your completed form using one of the methods below.
    • Return by email to:
    • Return by mail: ATTN: Department of Taxation Public Information Office 3850 Arrowhead Drive, 2nd Floor Carson City, Nevada 89706

Guidelines for Submitting a Public Records Request

  • Complete and return the Public Records Request Form.
  • The Department receives and tracks a high volume of requests and wants to ensure everyone receives a quick and accurate response.
  • Complete all parts of the Public Records Request Form request, either typewritten or with legible handwriting.
  • Due to the high volume of requests, records accessibility, staff availability and legal constraints, we may need a few days or sometimes weeks to locate and produce requested records.
  • Records are not always readily available and may be located in archived files.
  • Be specific and reduce the scope of the request as much as possible. This will help focus and expedite the records search.
  • Pursuant to NRS Chapter 239.0107, the Department will acknowledge receipt of your request and provide you a status report within five business days.
  • If necessary, the Department will ask for clarification so it can expedite the search for records.

Fees for Public Records

Nevada Revised Statute 239.052 states that a government entity is permitted to charge a fee for the actual cost incurred in the provision of a public record. This includes, without limitation, the cost of ink, toner, paper, media, and postage.

The Department will inform the requester of any fees prior to responding to the request.

  • Black and white copies, up to 8.5” x 11”: $0.05 per page
  • Color, up to 8.5” x 11”: $0.50 per page
  • Compact Disc/DVD/Thumb Drive: $5.00 per device
▲ Back to Top