Marijuana Establishments


    Public Information, Education & Media

    Work in the Marijuana Industry

    The first step to working in the industry or owning an establishment is to obtain a Marijuana Agent Registration Card. At the link below you will find the Marijuana Agent Portal for registration. If you have questions regarding Agent Cards, you may write to MJAgentCard@tax.state.nv.us.

    Which Dispensaries are Open?

    Complaints Against a Marijuana Facility

    Cannabis Delivery Information

    This is the list of State-approved cannabis delivery companies.

    All Forms, Policies & Procedures

    Here you will find all forms associated with marijuana establishments and agents for compliance & changes. For questions regarding changes to marijuana establishments, you may write to MJChange@tax.state.nv.us.

    ListServ

    The ListServ is the primary method of mass communication with industry and the public. This document outlines how to be added to the ListServ and search the archives. Access to some ListServs are restricted to authorized personnel.

    Laws & Regulations

    Current and prospective business owners, managers and employees should be familiar with the laws to remain compliant. Here you will find the law. Please research the laws to find the answers to your questions.

    Marijuana Establishment Renewal Fee Information

    Renewal Fees

    Except as otherwise provided in subsection 1 of NRS 453D.230, the Department will charge and collect the following fees upon the announcement of an application period, approval of a license and an establishment's renewal. The initial application fee is $5,000. If approved, a provisional letter will be issued by the stated notification date on the application announcement at which time the initial license fee is required. The link to the appropriate forms is below the fee charts. 

    Recreational Marijuana Licensing Fees

    Facility Type Initial License Renewal
    Dispensary $20,000 $6,600
    Cultivation $30,000 $10,000
    Production  $10,000 $3,300
    Laboratory $15,000 $5,000
    Distributor  $15,000 $5,000

    Medical Marijuana Licensing Fees

    Facility Type Initial License Renewal
    Dispensary $30,000 $5,000
    Cultivation $3,000 $1,000
    Production $3,000 $1,000
    Laboratory $5,000 $3,000

    New Marijuana License Applications

     

    No application periods are currently open. The Department has not determined if additional licensing periods will open. To be notified if additional licensing periods are opened, sign up for notifications at this page.

    Recreational Marijuana Establishments with Final Certificates as of February 2019

     County Dispensary  Cultivation  Production   Laboratory Transportation 
    Carson City 2 5 4 0  
    Churchill  1 0 0 0  
    Lyon 1 0 0 0  
    Nye 1 12 6 0  
    Clark 49 96 72 9  
    Washoe 13 23 16 2  
    TOTAL 66 134  96 11 26

      Medical Marijuana Program Reciprocity

      The Medical Marijuana dispensaries of the State of Nevada are authorized to sell medical marijuana to card holders from the states below if the patient presents a state or local government-issued medical marijuana card. 

      For information on obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card, contact DPBH at 775-687-7594.
      Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Connecticut District of Columbia
      Delaware Ely Shoshone Tribe Hawaii Illinois Maine Maryland
      Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Montana Nevada New Hampshire
      New Jersey New York New Mexico Ohio Oregon Pennsylvania
      Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe Rhode Island Vermont Washington Yerington Paiute Tribe Winnemucca Indian Colony

        Subscribe to the ListServ to be Notified of Upcoming Application Filing Periods

        What is "significant progress"?

        Proposed medical marijuana facilities that are awarded provisional certificates and licenses are expected to make "significant progress." Here you will find a description of the definition of "significant progress."

        Historical Information on Marijuana Licensing

        For 10 days during August, 2014, the Division accepted 519 applications for medical marijuana establishments.  In November, 2014, 372 provisional certificates were issued.  Starting in early 2015 and continuing into 2016, these establishments opened for business.

        Provisional Certificates Awarded in November, 2014: Scores and Rankings

        Marijuana Program Timeline

        Nov. 2000  65% of Nevada voters approve ballot question 9 to allow the use of medical marijuana in Nevada. Nevada becomes a home cultivation state with a patient registry, to be outlined in NRS 453A, the Medical Use of Marijuana.
        Oct. 2001  Question 9 becomes effective.
        June 2013  Senate Bill 374 signed by Governor Brian Sandoval to provide for medical marijuana establishments including cultivation, production, dispensaries and laboratories. NRS 453A is modified to include medical marijuana establishment regulation.
        Aug. 5-18, 2014  Ten-day filing period for medical marijuana establishment applications: 519 were submitted. The Division began the 90-day application scoring and ranking process.
        Nov. 3, 2014  Applicants for medical marijuana establishments were notified. A total of 372 provisional certificates were granted: 182 for cultivation; 118 for production; 55 for dispensaries; 17 for independent testing laboratories.
        Mar. 2015 The first medical marijuana establishments receive final certification and open for business. They are a cultivator and a laboratory, both located in northern Nevada.
        July 2015  The first medical marijuana dispensary opens for business in Nevada. It is located in Sparks, Nevada, east of Reno.
         May 2017 Governor's Task Force on the Implementation of Question 2 issues report. The Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act.

         

         

          Media Contact

          Eden Larson
          Public Information Officer
          775-684-2199
          ECLarson@tax.state.nv.us

           

          Kathleen Douglas
          Management Analyst
          775-684-2067
          KDouglas@tax.state.nv.us

           

            General Inquiries - Public & Industry

            Kyril "Ky" Plaskon
            Education Information Officer
            Marijuna@tax.state.nv.us

              Mailing & Office Locations

              Marijuana Enforcement Division
              1550 E. College Parkway
              Suite 115
              Carson City, NV 89706
              Phone (775) 684-3487
              Fax (775) 684-4156

              General Information